Camp NaNoWriMo: Where Our S’mores Are Made Of Words (And Words Are Not As Delicious As Chocolate)

So, this April, I’m doing a little thing called Camp NaNoWriMo. It’s like NaNoWriMo, but in April, and more lenient. And you get assigned to cabins which is super awesome, except when everyone else is in a different time zone than you and/or less prone to procrastinating on your cute little cabin chat.

(Quick explanation for those of you who have never come across the term NaNoWriMo: It’s for people who need motivation to finish their books: A challenge to write 50,000 words in 30 days, in an attempt to pump out a finished first draft by the end of the month. Unfortunately, I am not responsible and/or motivated enough to finish 50,000 words, so this April I am aiming for 30,000.)

Anyway, for Camp NaNo (I refuse to write out NaNoWriMo every time it hurts my Shift finger) I am writing Harry Potter fanfiction. Yes, fanfiction, which is a lovely thing where people write stories about other people’s stories so that the fun never ends. Specifically, I am writing a next-generation Harry Potter fanfiction, about Harry’s son Albus. Here’s my one line spiel: “Albus Potter is sorted into Slytherin in a time when anything that even seems Dark is a source of fear and distrust.”

(Cool, right? It only took me like, five minutes to come up with it while I was procrastinating.)

Luckily, I already had the characters and plot semi-planned out, because I didn’t decide to do Camp NaNo until about five o’ clock on March 31st. Whoops. But hey, now I’m coasting along a good 2,000 words and 2 days ahead of my goal, like a boss.

(On Pottermore I’m a Hufflepuff and Hufflepuffs are hard workers.)

(Note that hard work does not preclude procrastination, as I am merely taking long breaks between my hard work.)

This entry was posted in Emotional And Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camp NaNoWriMo: Where Our S’mores Are Made Of Words (And Words Are Not As Delicious As Chocolate)

  1. eyelava says:

    I participate in Nanowrimo too! It’s neat that your making a harry potter fanfiction.

  2. Tara Schiller says:

    The part about your shift finger made me laugh out loud. 🙂

Discuss! Reply! Give feedback!

