True Stories That Sound Like Lies

Edition: Me, my family, and the crazy s*** we do.

1. I have eaten deep-fried alligator meat, at a redneck party. At that same party I also heartlessly ate a crawfish that still had the eyeballs in which I had been playing with thirty minutes before, because I’m a badass.

2. I have gone inner-tubing in a hailstorm. Not intentionally, mind, this was Colorado, and it was sunny when we set out, but within thirty minutes it was a full-on, hailing, thunder-and-lightning storm. I may or may not have screamed “WE’RE ALL GONNA DIE” but in my defense I was nine and I was enough of a badass to suck it up and make it down the river.

3. From my second birthday to my third I believed wholeheartedly that I was a cat, which extended to waking up in the middle of the night and meowing instead of crying and also attempting to pee in the backyard. However, I was an intelligent cat, and my mom says that once she asked me to translate my meowing and I stopped, gave her a look, and said “Okay, I’ll talk normal just this once because you don’t speak cat,” and I explained what I wanted and went back to meowing.

4. My sister and I went to an art class and one of the pictures on the walls, a black-and-white line drawing of a woman, moved, I swear to God. It would yawn and scratch its nose when you weren’t looking directly at it and it was never in the same position twice.

 

This entry was posted in Emotional And Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Discuss! Reply! Give feedback!

