NaNoWriMo: Progress Report

Okay, first of all, I would like to preface this by saying yes, I haven’t blogged in three days, but no, it isn’t my fault, because we did not have any Internet. I will resume my once-a-day blogging from this point on, and now I really have no excuses.

Not My Fault reaction image

I’ve mentioned this before,but this month I’m doing the NaNoWriMo challenge, or National Novel Writing Month. NaNoWriMo is an event held during the month of November, where the goal is to write 50,000 words by December 1st.  If you win you get a bunch of free ebooks and discounts on stuff, so that’s cool, but there’s no pressure or anything, and no shaming for not writing 50,000 words. Their website even says, “If you write 50,000 words this month, that’s amazing! It’s crazy! You wrote 50,000 words in 30 days, how insane is that? If you don’t win, don’t sweat it: This is insane! This is a mind-boggling amount of words! As long as you did your best, you’re fine.”

inspirational NaNo poster

In order to complete the challenge, you have to write 1,667 words a day. That’s three or four twelve-point single-spaced pages, depending on the amount of dialogue you have. You should have 5k more every three days.

It is November 3rd, and I have 10,881 words! Woo-hoo! I have twice the amount of words I need, and a hefty head start. However, I have a lot of writing I need to do outside of this blog, so these will probably start getting shorter, from around 800 words average to around 300, at least until December, okay?

It’s not too late to join! Sign up at the website here, and start today! There’s no time to lose! You’re 5,000 words behind, but aiming towards 2,000 instead of 1667 should eat up the deficit quick. They have bar charts! And motivational pep talks! You could write a novel–in one month!

See you at the finish line, guys!

 

This entry was posted in Going For My Goals, Things I've Written and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Discuss! Reply! Give feedback!

