I’m Getting A… Job?

I’m not sure it counts as a job if it’s your parents paying you to do it, but hey, I have a job now. I cook for the family, ten bucks a meal, five days a week. I only cook dinner because our family is the type that scrounges for other meals, but that’s still fifty bucks a week. That’s a lot of money, just personally. I’m going to be be putting half of each paycheck (I have a paycheck!!) in a savings account so that if I ever feel the need to buy something big and expensive (Like a sewing machine or a car) I have the funds. Also, I’ll probably donate some. Not, like, a whole lot, but some.

My family is, recently, lactose and gluten intolerant. Well. Half of us are lactose intolerant and Mom is gluten intolerant. Mostly that’s because she didn’t discover her milk allergy for a long time so now her stomach and immune system are shredded and now she is allergic to everything. Yeast. Gluten. Dairy. Processed sugar. Jewelry. All the good things in life. (Sorry, Mom.) If you guys have any gluten/dairy free recipes, link me to them, all right? Thanks.

Oh! Also, I get paid bonuses for making snacks for the family. Such as the massive batch of muffins I currently have in the oven. Admittedly, I’m just baking of my own accord, so I don’t know if I’ll get paid. (*nudge nudge* *wink wink* Hey Mom.) And yes, I realize that muffins are neither dairy or gluten free, but come on, we aren’t that allergic to dairy, and Mom will just have to forgo the muffins.

Hmm. This is going to be a lot of money. I need, like, spreadsheets and stuff. A budget. Funds saved for whatever subscriptions and stuff I get. A careful allotment for donations. Perhaps, in the future, I can expand my business some? I could bake snacks and meals for people and deliver them.

Or I can just start working at Starbucks on the weekends when I’m sixteen. That is also a thing I can do. Who knows?

This entry was posted in Look At All The Things I'm Doing! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Getting A… Job?

  1. fivebeansoup says:

    Research and you will find dairy and gluten free muffin recipes. Look at the paleo recipes that likely call for almondmilk and coconut flour.

  2. Jean says:

    You will become a good cook over time…think of it as a life skill to be healthy for yourself after you leave home.

    As for your father: I’m sorry -there will be major problems one day when you and siblings leave home as adults and your mother is sick and cannot cook. Not everyone is strong forever.

    • kamrynwhowanders says:

      Uhhhh, thanks? I’m not sure what you mean about Dad, though. He’s good with Mexican food and barbecues, but he tends to think Spaghettios are a balanced meal, and he isn’t interested in learning how to become a good cook, which is why it’s my job. He’s not like, a lazy, helpless slacker or anything.

Discuss! Reply! Give feedback!

